Nebraska Criminal & Trial Lawyers
Why Should You Act Within 10 Days of a DUI?

Why Should You Act Within 10 Days of a DUI?

In Nebraska, DUI-related charges can result in you facing some very serious consequences. McGough Law, P.C., L.L.O., is here to help you understand the laws of the state, and what you can do to fight against your charges.

You may have heard before that it's important to act within 10 days of being charged with a DUI-related crime. Why is that? Basically, your license will automatically be suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) if you don't actively request an administrative hearing. Not only is this up to you, but you must do it within 10 days of being arrested for it to be considered valid.

If you don't request an administrative hearing, the DMV will go through with the process to either suspend or revoke your license. This administrative process will have begun the moment that you were arrested. The state will simultaneously launch a criminal DUI case against you that you will need to be prepared to face.

Once you have requested your administrative hearing, this is where having the aid of an attorney is invaluable. In order to represent your case well and ensure that your license isn't revoked or suspended, you need someone who knows the ins and outs of the law and knows how to protect you.

When you're staring down a DUI-related charge of any sort, the best thing that you can do for yourself is to act quickly and know what you're up against. Check out our web page on dealing with driver's license suspension and other DUI-related issues if you would like to learn more.

Categories:

Contact Us Today!

All Consultations are Free and Confidential
    • Please enter your first name.
    • Please enter your last name.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.