Nebraska Criminal & Trial Lawyers
How Does Nebraska's Sex Offender Registry Work?

How Does Nebraska's Sex Offender Registry Work?

If you have been arrested on suspicion of a sex crime in Nebraska, it will be important to understand the potential penalties that may be incurred if a conviction is ultimately achieved. Among the consequences that you may face if you are convicted of a sex crime charge is the required participation in the state’s sex offender registry program.

According to the State of Nebraska, the reporting requirements for convicted sex offenders are based in large part on the nature of the charges against you. If you are convicted of a misdemeanor offense that has an incarceration period of less than 12 months, you will be required to register once per year for 22 years. For convictions of non-aggravated felonies with incarcerations lasting longer than 12 months, registration will be required two times a year for 25 years. You can be ordered to register four times a year for life if you are convicted of an aggravated felony, if your current conviction is not your first sex offense, and if you are required to register as a sex offender in another state or territory.

If you are in jail or prison, you must report before your release or within three days of being released. Data to be provided includes details such as your physical or email addresses, work or school information, and electronic account user names. You may also need to authorize searches of your email or other online accounts. The state will also take finger and palm prints as well as a DNA sample.

This information is not intended to provide legal advice but general information about the sex offender registry program in Nebraska.


Contact Us Today!

All Consultations are Confidential
    • Please enter your first name.
    • Please enter your last name.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.