Nebraska Criminal & Trial Lawyers
Felony DUI Penalties in Nebraska

Felony DUI Penalties in Nebraska

Getting arrested for drunk driving can and does happen to a myriad of very responsible people in Nebraska. That, however, does not take away the stigma associated with it. That stigma only seems to increase if you have been arrested or convicted of more than one DUI offense. Along with a negative public view, if you are facing a fourth or fifth drunk driving conviction, you may also face some very serious consequences.

According to the Nebraska Department of Roads, after a third DUI conviction, if you are arrested you may be charged with a felony. Fourth DUI offenses are Class IIIA felonies and fifth offenses are Class III felonies. If you are able to get probation, you may be required to pay $2,000 in fines. You may lose your driver's license for 22 years although the potential to request an ignition interlock device after 15 days might be available. Your jail time may be 180 days for a fifth offense and 90 days for a fourth offense.

If you do not receive probation, your penalties can be even more severe. Your fines may be as high as $25,000 for a fifth offense. For a fourth offense, you may expect to pay $10,000. Jail sentences run between two and 22 years for fifth DUIs and between 180 days and five years for fourth DUIs. For either a fourth or fifth DUI your driver's license may be revoked for 22 years.

If you would like to learn more about drug crimes and related charges, please feel free to visit the multiple drunk driving offense page of our Nebraska DUI defense website.

Categories:

Contact Us Today!

All Consultations are Free and Confidential
    • Please enter your first name.
    • Please enter your last name.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.