Nebraska Criminal & Trial Lawyers
The Age of Consent in Nebraska

The Age of Consent in Nebraska

It seems that in the past several years, Nebraska residents have heard about a large number of situations in which young people are alleging that an older person inappropriately engaged in sexual activity with them or perhaps at least attempted to do so. Whether or not this is more prevalent today than in past generations is hard to say. Among the many things people should learn about in these situations is when a person can legally agree to participate in sexual activity.

As explained by the Age of Consent, a person who is 16 years of age or older is legally able to engage in sexual activity in Nebraska. A person who is 16 and has sexual intercourse with a person who is 15 may be at risk of being accused of statutory rape. The age of consent is also recognized even in cases where both of the people involved are under 16. Therefore if two teenagers who are both 15 have sex, it may lead to criminal charges of statutory rape even if the activity was believed to be consensual on the part of both people.

According to the Nebraska Legislature, a charge of sexual assault in the first degree is classified as a Class II felony in the state. Among the factors that may result in this charge is the age of the people involved. A person over the age of 18 who engages in sexual activity with a person between 12 and 15 years old might find themselves facing criminal charges.

The other things that may contribute to a charge of sexual assault in the first degree are a general lack of consent by one party or the inability of one party to actually consent.

Categories:

Contact Us Today!

All Consultations are Free and Confidential
    • Please enter your first name.
    • Please enter your last name.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.